sadlers wells


Sadler’s Wells has been inducted into the Irish Derby Hall of Fame at the Curragh. The outstanding racehorse and 14-time champion sire won the 1984 Irish 2,000 Guineas at the track.

His name joined those of previous recipients of the award – Vincent O’Brien, Lester Piggott, the Aga Khan, Pat Eddery and Sir Michael Stoute. The sire of six Irish Derby winners, Sadler’s Wells, who was retired from stud duties in May, was directly represented by Curtain Call and Hindu Kush in Sunday’s renewal of the Curragh Classic, while another four of the runners, headed by race winner Frozen Fire, were by his sons.